About this project

This website was developed during a seminar of the study program "Holocaust Communication and Tolerance" at Touro College Berlin in cooperation with the Nazi Forced Labour Documentation Center. For two semesters, students addressed the topic of forced labour at Siemens in Berlin. Because the Corona pandemic made an in-person exhibition impossible, the students developed a concept for a digital exhibition. Despite very limited access to archives, they researched biographies, collected material, wrote texts and designed this website. It gives an impression of the lives and fates of victims from all over Europe. It also presents German perpetrators and profiteers and shows how forced labour was a part of everyday life in the Reich capital.

Today there is little awareness of how public the crimes of World War II were. The approval or at least tacit acceptance by German society, which profited from the suffering of its European neighbours, has not led to reflection. The project offers an introduction to the topic in the hope that it will stimulate stronger interest in this history.

Curators

Ellen Fischer
Alischia Kusche
Eyal Roth
Johanna Schubert

Scholarly Guidance

Dr. Christine Glauning
Prof. Dr. Stephan Lehnstaedt

Website Concept

Ellen Fischer
Eyal Roth  – The Jewish Heritage tour of Berlin

Project Assistance

Anna Blumin
Roland Borchers

Translation

Miriamne Fields 

Acknowledgements

Dr. Gianfranco Ceccanei, Familie Grot, Familie Di Leo, Thomas Irmer, Dr. Esther Maier & Dr. Matthias Uhl (Deutsches Historisches Institut Moskau), Rolf Schmolling, Uwe Hofschläger, Jugendgeschichtswerkstatt Spandau, Pfarrerin Gisela Dittmer, Falkensee-Seegefeld, Hans-Erich Viet und Thomas Keller.

We thank the Siemens historical institute (Dr. Florian Kiuntke and Florian Blocher) for the support and funding for the the project.

Über das Projekt

Diese Website entstand in einem Seminar des Studiengangs „Holocaust Communication and Tolerance“ am Touro College Berlin in einer Kooperation mit dem Dokumentationszentrum NS-Zwangsarbeit: Zwei Semester lang beschäftigten sich Student:innen mit Zwangsarbeit bei Siemens in Berlin. Weil die Corona-Pandemie eine Präsenzausstellung verhinderte, erarbeiteten sie ein Konzept für eine digitale Ausstellung. Trotz stark eingeschränkten Archivzugangs recherchierten sie Biographien, sammelten Materialien, verfassten Texte und gestalteten diese Website. Sie gibt einen Einblick in Leben und Schicksal der aus ganz Europa stammenden Opfer. Sie zeigt deutsche Täter:innen und Profiteure und belegt, dass Zwangsarbeit zum Alltag in der Reichshauptstadt gehörte.

In der heutigen Wahrnehmung ist kaum präsent, wie öffentlich die Verbrechen des Zweiten Weltkriegs waren. Die Zustimmung oder zumindest stillschweigende Akzeptanz der deutschen Gesellschaft, die vom Leid ihrer europäischen Nachbarn profitierte, löst kein Nachdenken aus. Deshalb soll das Projekt zu einer Beschäftigung mit dieser Geschichte anregen und einen Einstieg in das Thema bieten.

Kurator:innen

Ellen Fischer
Alischia Kusche
Eyal Roth
Johanna Schubert

Wissenschaftliche Leitung

Dr. Christine Glauning
Prof. Dr. Stephan Lehnstaedt

Konzept der Website

Ellen Fischer
Eyal Roth  – The Jewish Heritage tour of Berlin

Projektassistenz

Anna Blumin
Roland Borchers

Übersetzungen

Miriamne Fields 

Danksagung

Dr. Gianfranco Ceccanei, Familie Grot, Familie Di Leo, Thomas Irmer, Dr. Esther Maier & Dr. Matthias Uhl (Deutsches Historisches Institut Moskau), Rolf Schmolling, Uwe Hofschläger, Jugendgeschichtswerkstatt Spandau, Pfarrerin Gisela Dittmer, Falkensee-Seegefeld, Hans-Erich Viet und Thomas Keller.

Wir danken dem Siemens Historical Institute (Dr. Florian Kiuntke und Florian Blocher) für die Unterstützung und Förderung des Projekts.