Forced Labour at Siemens in Berlin

Founded in Berlin in 1847, Siemens quickly develops into a major international corporation. In the 1930s, the company is the industry leader in the German electrical industry and benefits from the economic upswing and rearmament. During the Second World War, Siemens deployed at least 80,000 and probably over 100,000 forced laborers in many places: German Jews, civilians deported from occupied Europe, prisoners of war, convicts and concentration camp inmates. They were forced to work in Berlin and other company locations as well as in almost 400 relocation and alternative factories under inhumane conditions for war production. This also enabled Siemens to expand into the occupied territories. In 1943, for example, a plant was built in Bobrek, a subcamp of Auschwitz.

Like all German companies, Siemens did not accept any responsibility for forced labor for decades after 1945. Siemens only made seven million marks available to surviving Jewish concentration camp prisoners in 1962, but rejected any legal or moral obligation. This attitude only changed with the broad debate on Nazi forced labor in the 1990s and the class action lawsuits in the USA: Siemens set up its own "Humanitarian Relief Fund for Former Forced Laborers" in 1998 and participated in the "Remembrance, Responsibility and Future" foundation in 2000. Since 2010, Siemens has organized annual remembrance projects for trainees in cooperation with the Ravensbrück Memorial.

A comprehensive study of the history of Nazi forced labour at Siemens has yet to be conducted. This is particularly true regarding civilian forced labourers and prisoners of war, but also for the Sinti and Roma.

error: Der Inhalt auf dieser Seite ist geschützt.
en_GB

Zwangsarbeit bei Siemens in Berlin

Die 1847 in Berlin gegründete Firma Siemens entwickelt sich schnell zu einem internationalen Großkonzern. In den 1930er Jahren ist das Unternehmen Branchenführer der deutschen Elektroindustrie und profitiert von Wirtschaftsaufschwung und Aufrüstung. Siemens setzt an vielen Orten während des Zweiten Weltkrieges mindestens 80.000, wahrscheinlich über 100.000 Zwangsarbeiter:innen ein: deutsche Jüdinnen und Juden, aus dem besetzten Europa verschleppte Zivilist:innen, Kriegsgefangene, Strafgefangene und KZ-Häftlinge. Sie müssen in Berlin und weiteren Firmenstandorten sowie in fast 400 Verlagerungs- und Ausweichbetrieben unter menschenverachtenden Bedingungen für die Kriegsproduktion arbeiten. Das ermöglicht Siemens auch eine Expansion in die besetzten Gebiete. 1943 entsteht beispielsweise ein Werk in Bobrek, einem Außenlager von Auschwitz.

Wie alle deutschen Unternehmen übernimmt Siemens nach 1945 jahrzehntelang keine Verantwortung für die Zwangsarbeit. Nur für überlebende jüdische KZ-Häftlinge stellt Siemens 1962 sieben Millionen Mark zur Verfügung, lehnt aber eine rechtliche oder moralische Verpflichtung ab. Erst mit der breiten Debatte über die NS-Zwangsarbeit in den 1990er Jahren und wegen der Sammelklagen in den USA ändert sich diese Haltung: Siemens gründet 1998 einen firmeneigenen „Humanitären Hilfsfonds für ehemalige Zwangsarbeiter“ und beteiligt sich 2000 an der Stiftung „Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft“. Seit 2010 organisiert Siemens für Auszubildende in Kooperation mit der Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Ravensbrück jährlich Erinnerungsprojekte.

Die Geschichte der NS-Zwangsarbeit bei Siemens ist bis heute nicht umfassend aufgearbeitet. Das betrifft insbesondere den Zwangsarbeitseinsatz der zivilen Zwangsarbeiter:innen, der Kriegsgefangenen, aber auch der Sini:zze und Romn:ja.